June 18, 2024

Columbus Post

Complete News World

Nobel Prize for Journalism – Nobel Peace Prize Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muradov – News

  • The Nobel Peace Prize 2021 is awarded to both Maria Ressa and Dmitry Murado.
  • The Norwegian Nobel Committee on Friday announced that you will be honored for maintaining freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia.

“The award is given to both journalists for their courageous struggle for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia,” said Perit Reyes-Anderson, chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee. These efforts are a prerequisite for democracy and lasting peace.

They are awarded the Nobel Peace Prize “on behalf of all journalists who defend this ideal – democracy and press freedom in the world are increasingly exposed to the worst conditions”.

Dmitry Muradov (59) was instrumental in starting the independent Russian newspaper “Novaya Gazzetta” Related and Editor-in-Chief of the Kremlin Review Media.

Lucia Churky: “Recognition of identity for democratic Russians”

Open the box
Close the box

This is a symbolic date on which the editor-in-chief of “Novaya Gazzetta” Dmitry Muradov was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize: a day after the deadline for the assassination of his former colleague Anna Politkovskaya, SRF reporter Lucia explains.

Despite the fact that a total of six journalists were killed from the “Novaya Gazette”, the Nobel Prize committee justifies the award to Murado with the fact that he adhered to the principles of journalism.

The newspaper represents the values ​​of Gorbachev’s founding policy

Muradov, a representative of Russia’s perestroika generation, received the award. “Novaya Gazzetta” was significantly owned by the first Russian president, Mikhail Gorbachev.

It represented the values ​​of the founding policy under Gorbachev, who began his tenure as general secretary of the Communist Party in the 1980s, from its inception. Under Vladimir Putin, these representatives of the Russian community were increasingly pushed to political prominence.

See also  Dozens of Russian attacks in eastern Ukraine

In view of the current wave of repression against the independent Russian media, the Nobel Peace Prize is a symbol of appreciation for all democratically based Russians.

Putin is likely to respond with a shrug

President Putin shrugged his shoulders at the Western awards. A few days after the assassination of Anna Politkovskaya, Putin publicly stated that his influence in the country’s domestic politics was low. Not to mention that Vladimir Putin took care of it personally. The award for Murado is a clear political statement against the Kremlin leader.

One can only hope that Russian journalists, independent of the little-known media outside the capital of Moscow, will not be completely forgotten.

Muradov was the first Russian to win the Nobel Peace Prize in 30 years. In 1990, former Soviet government and party leader Mikhail Gorbachev was awarded for his contribution to the end of the Cold War.

Now let’s try to help people who are classified as agents.

Dmitry Muradov wants to use the cash bonus for repressed newspaper development in his country. “We will try to help people who are now classified as persecuted and deported agents,” the Nobel Peace Prize laureate told Independent Portal Medusa, which is also classified as a “foreign agent.”

She is the first woman to receive the Nobel Prize this year

Maria Ressa (58) owns an online media outlet in 2012 Ropler Co-established. The news portal made a name for itself with its investigative magazine. It includes important statements by Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte and the deadly war on drugs.

Upon learning of the Ressa Award, his first reaction was: “I’m shocked.” Journalist Ropler said in a statement on the news portal that he was “very shocked” by the decision. “I think it shows that the Nobel Prize committee has realized that a world without facts is a world without truth and hope.”

I am in shock.

Maria Ressa is the first woman to win the Nobel Prize this year.

See also  Rising monkey - African epidemic spreads across Europe - News

Presented at the anniversary of the death of Alfred Nobel

Last year the award went to the United Nations World Food Program, which was honored for its fight against hunger in the world.

As in the previous year, a section of the Nobel Prize is awarded ten million Swedish kronor (approximately one million Swiss francs). The Nobel Peace Prize is considered the most valuable political award in the world. The award is traditionally presented on December 10 – the year of the death of Alfred Nobel (1833-1896), the gift giver and inventor of dynamite.

The names of the nominees will remain secret for 50 years

329 candidates – 234 personalities and 95 organizations – have been nominated this time. This is the third largest number ever recommended. The names of the nominees have traditionally been kept secret for 50 years.

Recipients of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize

Open the box
Close the box

2020: That United Nations World Food Program Its efforts to combat hunger have been a driving force in its contribution to improving peace in conflict areas and in preventing the use of hunger as a weapon in war and conflict.

2019: Prime Minister of Ethiopia Abi Ahmed For his efforts for peace and international cooperation and especially for his efforts to resolve the border conflict with neighboring Eritrea.

2018: Denise Mukwege (Congo) and Nadia Murad (Iraq) For their use as a weapon against sexual violence in wars and armed conflicts.

2017: The International Campaign for Nuclear Non-Proliferation (ICON) For her efforts to draw attention to the catastrophic effects of the use of nuclear weapons and her pioneering work in promoting the nuclear deal.

See also  German opera singer Friedrich S. was beaten and abandoned

2016: Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos For his determined efforts to end more than 50 years of civil war in his country.

2015: The Quarterly for National Dialogue in Tunisia For his decisive contribution to building a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia known as the Jasmine Revolution in 2011.

2014: Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan) and Kailash Satyarthi (India) For the struggle against the oppression of children and youth and for the right to education of all children.

2013: The Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) For their use against globally banned weapons of mass destruction.

2012: The European Union (EU) For their contribution to peace, democracy and human rights in Europe for more than six decades.

2011: Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf and Lima Kbovi (both Liberian) and Tawakkul Karman (Yemen) For the non-violent struggle for the advancement of women.

Only selected articles can be commented on

Open the box
Close the box

Dear users. We want constructive discourse that is free of contempt, discrimination and misinformation. That’s why we decided to change our concept system. We now focus on selected topics and will not approve all articles for comment. We would like to start 3 to 5 discussions each day so that our community group can support it more closely. Commentary articles can be found under “Day’s Discussions”. There is more information Here. We look forward to hearing from you soon!